h1

Money and the Modern Mind: Georg Simmel’s Philosophy of Money

February 27, 2015

Money and the Modern Mind: Georg Simmel's Philosophy of MoneyAt first, I approached this book because I am looking for an easier introduction before I tackle The Philosophy of Money (believe me, it is a difficult book to read). But, it didn’t turned out as I expected. I want to read Philosophy of Money because I am interested in, well, “money”. What Poggi offered is a bit different…

Poggi only discussed about money thoroughly in this book in ONE CHAPTER. The rests are the historical context of the book, the philosophical genealogy, and the impact of money to the modernity, as suggested in the title. Poggi is trying to put Simmel in a proper place among other sociological thinker, and he is doing it quite well. It is just that is not what I am looking for.

So, if you are looking for a genealogy of Simmel’s thought in Philosophy of Money, this book is perfect for you. But, if you are looking for a companion to read Philosophy of Money, like what I am trying to do, you would be disappointed.

My suggestion, if you want to read Philosophy of Money, read it right away. You can skip Poggi’s work. You are not going to miss much.

three star

Leave a Reply

