h1

The Egg

February 11, 2015

17563539This is a short story, that you can read for free from the Internet (http://www.galactanet.com/oneoff/theegg_mod.html). It is written by the new sci-fi sensation, Andy Weir. Although he is a sci-fi writer, I am not going to categorize this short story as a sci-fi. It is more a made up spiritualist story like a Coelho’s one.

The short story is really really short, using a common short story standard. Being a short one, there are not much to tell, and the author hit the sweet spot right away, with a twist in the end.

I cannot really discuss this short story without spoiling it, actually, so here we go…

WARNING, DO NOT READ THIS SPOILER IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE SHORT STORY, IT WILL SPOIL EVERYTHING SINCE THE STORY IS VERY SHORT.

SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER
In the beginning it thought it is going to be a common after-life story, plus the meeting Your Creator, but not quite the ever-judging Abrahamaic God, but the indifference Hindu-Buddhist God (if you can call it “a God”). But in the end, it quite shocked me: the entire UNIVERSE is actually is just AN EGG, with me as the center.

Well, if you are not surprised enough, let me rephrase it. The entire universe is created ENTIRELY for me, as a playground for me to evolve until I reach my Godhood, which will let me to bring about another EGG UNIVERSE for another being to evolve within. This is quite a solipsistic philosophy with a twist.

So, everything that is good or bad in this universe, is created by me, only me. So I am Hitler, Caligula, Jesus, Martin Luther, the Playboy Bunnies, a no-one sitting next to me at the bus stop. They are all: “I”. If I did something good, I did it to myself, I I did something bad, I did it to myself. This is also quite a twist from the Christian teaching: “Everything that you did to my humblest servants, you did it to me,” said Jesus.

In the end this kind of story is the kind of story that provokes thought, not that you read for the plot. I actually want to give it FOUR, but being to short for any literary merit, I can give it only a THREE.

three star

2 comments

  1. Love this story! I’ve read at least 20 times🙂


    • Hope that we have more this kind of scifi shorts. Thanks for visiting my blog.



Leave a Reply

