h1

Household Stories by the Brothers Grimm

August 19, 2014

Household Stories by the Brothers GrimmNot the best book for entertainment or filling your head, eventually. But anyway it is a significant book if you are interested in mythology-fairy tale comparison.

I read this book as an assignment for Coursera. My first impression when joining looking at the lecture and reading this book is that it is oversexed. Everything is too Freudian, which I don’t really like. But again, maybe it is just my personal taste.

For example, the ever-going enmity between between the witch or queen (usually barren with no children) and a maiden is depicting the struggle of virginity and sexual maturity. It is the social mores that in one way holding virginity up-high, but in the end the maiden is forced to enter a marriage life, therefore loosing her virginity.

On my side, I tend to read the story more on the political side rather than sexual. What I see in the text is the struggle of class. Such theme is depicted in “Frog Prince”, which are a struggle between the working class (the frog) and the capital owner (the princess). Or in “Goose Girl”, showing the rebellion of commoners (the lady waiting) against her mistress (the princess).

So in the end, this is the book that you need if you are interested in looking at the symbolism that predates our modern world. For I am more interested in visionary theme, I would rather say that this kind of book is not my cup of tea. 3 STAR is more than enough.

three star

//

Leave a Reply

