h1

The Lies of Locke Lamora

June 19, 2013

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard, #1)I was delighted to be introduced to this gem in fantasy literature. The story is fresh, unlike other fantasy novels which are overcrowded with wizards, spells, and swords. This one is about thieves, lies and revenges. With the center figure, enter, Locke Lamora, the Master Thief, and also happened to be a Gentleman. Therefore, the group of thief is called the Gentleman Bastard.

The novel begins with an orphanage run by a Fagin type persona. Many people compare it with Oliver Twist, but I would say that Mr. Lynch has his own originality. By just using a shepherd in a story line does not make you plagiarizing the Bible, right?

The novel is told by alternating the present and the past, in interlude. Some part of the interlude serves as a background, reminder or explanation of the present act. I find it quiet interesting, and sometime I am even more interested in the background than the main story. You might said the interlude sometimes steals the act. I care more for the characters in the interlude than in the act.

The writing is indeed light and entertaining. The dialogue is witty and charming. It is just Mr. Lynch used, ah…, too frequently that it looses its effect of dramatic. The jokes and punch lines are fresh, many of them are quotable. My personal favorite is the invocation while dining:

“I only steal because my dear old family needs the money to live!”
“Liar!”
“I only steal because this wicked world won’t let me work an honest trade!”
“LIAR!”
“I only steal, because I’ve temporarily fallen in with bad company.”
“LIAR!”
“I only steal because it’s heaps of fucking fun!”
“BASTARD!”

Why I just give it a FOUR STAR? The finale is not as glorious as I expected. The scene of Mr. Lamora drowned in horse-piss is already the climax. After that it is downhill, even though still plot twisting.

Just my last comment, killing Jean while saving Bug I think would make the story more dramatic. Just my two cents.

Leave a Reply

