h1

The Enchantress

May 7, 2013

The Enchantress (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, #6)Finally, the finale. My first comment. Not bad Mr. Scott. Six novel in six years. It would say, it is quite satisfying, for a children literature. I would not mind my children to read this series. It is a good introduction to the world mythology, to get acquainted with Hekate, Morrigan, Prometheus, and so on, not to mention to be introduced to many great historical characters such as Joan of Arc and Musashi, and some obscure characters such as Nicholas Flamel and John Dee. And it is entertaining too.

Now the detail. First, I want to comment about the ending. There are two ending for the novel, the first one in the Danu Talis, and the second one in San Francisco. I do not really like Danu Talis. For a finale, it is to simplistic. Surely, Earthlord should not be defeated that easy.  But I like the ending for San Francisco, quite a battle there.

Since now we have the grand story explained, I would like to comment that too.
1. The Time Travel. I find the time travel a bit confusing. I would have made the story goes in loop, forever. This, I think, is the weakest part of the plot.
2. The deity and demigods. I am not complaining that Mr. Scott is using lots of deities in his story, out of the context of the real deity in the mythology. It is his story, and he has the right to do it. I might do the same thing, if I were the writer.
3. The twins. The twins is also a weak part. It should have been the apex of the story, somehow it does not feel that way. The side story, which is saving San Francisco is more interesting and emotional. The story about their pedigree is also not that interesting.

I would put this series in par with Rick Riordan‘s Percy Jackons series. Both using lots of mythology figure, both are in children literature section. Both are entertaining.

For children book, I will give it a 4 star, but for general reader, I will give it a 3. It is not in par with J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, or even Philip Pullman, yet.

Leave a Reply

